D-8 Economic Cooperation moves to improve living standards

The D-8 Organisation for Economic Cooperation will continue to foster result-oriented approach through its founding principles, to improve living standards of citizens of member countries.
D-8 was established on June 15, 1997 for economic cooperation among eight countries – Turkey, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, and Nigeria.
The Secretary-General of D-8, Mr Dato’ Ku Jaafar Ku Shaari, said this in his address on Tuesday in Istanbul, to commemorate the 24th Anniversary of the organisation.
“D-8 will continue to move forward with result-oriented and action-based approach in line with targets of founding father of the D-8, Prof. Necmettin Erbakan and other leaders of the organisation.
“Our aim is to work within framework of founding principles of peace, dialogue, cooperation, justice, equality and democracy, to improve developing countries’ positions in the world economy.
“To diversify and create new opportunities in trade relations, enhance participation in decision-making at the international level and provide better standard of living for our people.”
He commended Erbakan’s initiative to have resulted in establishment of the D-8 during the Summit of Heads of State/Government of member countries on June 15, 1997, at Çırağan-Palace, Istanbul, Turkey..


Leave a Reply